9397765501_43c69b176a_o

It took me many years to know about Gluten Intolerance, 2 weeks of observation to determine that I have it and a LOT of effort to accept my sensitivity. And while I dealt with lack of information & conviction, I kept adding to a crappy body, skin allergy and mood-swings. When you have been believing that you are OK and then suddenly discover allergies/diseases that no one else in the family has or has had, your mind is in denial. Mine was. In that denial I embraced suffering as a daily thing and today I wish I could go back in time, tell myself I was being an idiot and start treament earlier to save myself from wasting golden years in vain.

According to statistics, a staggering 10-15% of population suffers from some sort of gluten allergy and about 95-98% of those suffering do not suspect they have it! Many put up with Gluten Intolerance for as long as 6-10 years before they are diagonised! And these are only scary.

There’s a good chance that you or someone around you is suffering from Gluten Intolerance. I am going to try to help those who are confused why their body is behaving so trashy.

What is Gluten?
The Wheatcrop consists of two nutritions:-
1) Lectines
2) Proteins. These further classified into three forms:-
a) Gliadin               b) Glutenin
c) Gluteomorphin
Gliadin & Glutenin further form the Gluten protein.

What is Gluten Intolerance?
The inability of the body to digest the Gluten protein results in Gluten Intolerance. It is not a disease but a strong allergy which can lead to more severe diseases if left untreated.

What are the symptoms of Gluten Intolerance?
There are many symptoms that can help you determine.
Keratosis_pilaris_arm-628x750

 

1) Keratosis Pilaris or Chicken Skin. I developed many patches of red, bumpy skin all over my body which itch a lot. However, avoid scratching as it may spread.

2) Digestive disorder. Right after having a wheat meal, I felt discomfort and bloating. Excess gas passing is also a sign of old gluten that is still stuck inside your body. You may suffer Diarrhea or constipation. PS: Avoid fizzy antacids as they hamper with your body’s natural system.

3)Migraines. I did not suffer from the long migraines but I suffered from Ice-pick headaches which are another kind of migraine that last 5-10 seconds on average and feel like an icicle being stabbed into your head. I always have had mild ice-picks  1-2 times a month but as Gluten Intolerance sat untreated, I suffered 8-10 severe ice-pick headaches per day which went up to lasting 30-60 secs.

4) Pain, inflammation or swelling in joints. My doc took it as a deficiency of calcium & Vit-D. While it could be so, if you don’t have other symptoms.

5) Hormonal Imbalance. PMS, Infertility etc.

6) Foggy mind. Except for a couple of hours after my meditation sessions, I lived with a dull, foggy mind for the rest of the day. You know when productivity is low and the day seems to just fly by in haze.

7) Fatigue. Oh, I always felt tired. Even an hour after waking up, I could hardly ever muster my full energy. More like Chronic Fatigue.

8) Dizziness or feeling off balance. Never felt dizzy in my 26 years and then last 4 years, dizziness became common.

9) Mood swings, anxiety, depression and aloofness. If you continuously feel these without any true cause.

10) Autoimmune Diseases. I developed Psoriasis, but it could be any autoimmune disease.

I have many but not all of these symptoms, how do I determine if I am Gluten Intolerant?
Once you are curious, maintain a food diary for atleast 2 weeks. You put in everything you eat, see and feel into the notebook along with time. If you notice these symptoms getting stronger after consuming wheat, take 1 week off wheat and observe the symptoms again. If they are reduced in frequency or intensity, go see a doctor.

If you go to see a doctor before keeping a diary, the doctor will most likely suggest you the same. 🙂

Many people may confuse Gluten Intolerance with Celiac disease or Wheat allergy. I will discuss this in another post. Also keep tuned in for Living well with Gluten Intolerance! Thank you for reading.

